The Better Education Starts Today (BEST) Strategy Advisory Groups

The Better Education Starts Today (BEST) Strategy will transform Manitoba’s K-12 Education system. To ensure the voices of Manitobans are reflected in the design, implementation and decisions, a series of formal advisory groups will be established. Below is a summary of each group.

The BEST Strategy: Charting our Path Forward

April – September 2021 Engagement Priorities

Professional Learning Communities – Expression of Interest Form

Parent Engagement Task Force

The province has established a Parent Engagement Task Force to guide public input and provide advice to the government on how to move forward with parent engagement as a key component of education reform in Manitoba.

The Task Force will engage directly with Manitoba parents and caregivers through a series of 15 regional meetings scheduled for later this month and June to understand about the role of school community councils, how parent engagement can be strengthened and the resources they need to be successful. The province is also hosting four telephone town halls and targeted workshops with parent advisory councils, school leaders and social service organizations. Following their engagement with Manitobans, the Task Force will make recommendations to the Minister to inform the work of this priority action going forward.

Access the Parent Engagement Task Force Terms of Reference information

Teachers’ Idea Fund Review Panel

The Idea Fund accepts proposals from teachers, school staff and leaders. The Teachers’ Idea Fund Review Panel members will review and approve applications and provide ongoing guidance and implementation support to recipients. Panel members will also be invited to identify other individuals within their field that could also provide mentorship and/or research capacity to the successful applicants.


Academia, education community (teachers, principal, administrators, French language, Indigenous), MB Chambers, and Innovation sector


Established. For more information, please contact [email protected]

Student Advisory Council

The Student Advisory Council consists of up to 20 students, aged 14 to 18, with diverse interests, identities, backgrounds, and perspectives from across Manitoba. Council members will provide insights and advice to the Minister of Education regarding current and emerging issues and topics that relate to Manitoba Kindergarten to Grade 12 students. Students will form a network to advance innovation and improvement in Manitoba’s education system.


Up to 20 students ages 14 to 18. Diversity will be considered as part of recruitment.


Applications being accepted until May 10, 2021. For further detail and the application form, see the Student Advisory Council.

Curriculum Advisory Panel

The external advisory panel will provide focused input on the curriculum framework at key points within the development cycle. Its members will provide feedback representing diverse perspectives. For the complete terms of reference see the Curriculum Advisory Panel Terms of Reference.


The panel will be comprised of up to 15 members from a broad representation of individuals and organizations including students, parents, educators, school and system leaders, Indigenous partners, and businesses.


Interested individuals and organizations are invited to submit an Expression of Interest form (EOI) by May 7, 2021. For those individuals who have already submitted an EOI you do not need to reapply.

Funding Review Team

This team will be responsible for developing a new funding model for public education in Manitoba. This will incorporate the phase out of education property taxes and ensuring a fair, equitable and transparent funding model is delivered.


Education stakeholders, provincial departments, the Association of Manitoba Municipalities.


Recruitment underway for team members and advisory members via the Education Expression of Interest.

Minister’s Advisory Council on Inclusive Education

The objective of the Council is to provide recommendations to the Minister with a focus on ensuring timely access to assessment, learning supports, and clinical services for students with special needs; implementing a standardized reporting mechanism aligned with the provincial report card; and reviewing investments and professional learning needs to enhance classroom supports. For the complete terms of reference, see the Inclusive Education Advisory Council Terms of Reference.


Key stakeholders, or those in the public with expertise related to special learning needs, will be key in seeking diversity of perspective, geographic representation, and experience.


Recruitment to begin by April 22, 2021.

Task Force on Poverty and Education

The Task Force, in connection to the Poverty Reduction Strategy, will examine the linkages between poverty and education and support the implementation of strategies to improve engagement and outcomes for all students.


Key stakeholder with expertise poverty-related issue – will be key to seek diversity of perspective, geographic representation, and experience


Targeted recruitment with organizations underway to identify representatives. Educators will also be identified through the Expression of Interest.

Indigenous Inclusion Directorate Advisory Council

The Indigenous Inclusion Directorate Advisory Council (IIDAC) is to provide advice, guidance and recommendations to the Director of the Indigenous Inclusion Directorate (IID) on matters as they relate to initiatives and action areas within Nursery – Grade 12 education.


Council is established.


The Indigenous Inclusion Directorate Advisory Council consists of: two persons who are practicing teachers/principals; one Trustee representative; one person representing Manitoba First Nation Education Directors; one Superintendent representative; one Youth representative; one person who is a practicing teacher/principal representing the Full Circle on Indigenous Education; one Aboriginal Elder; two parents; a citizen at large as designated by the Deputy Minister; the Chair of the Kiskentamowin Advisory Committee; the director of the Indigenous Inclusion Directorate as ex officio and secretary. This representation may change depending upon the topic to be discussed; and, additional cultural representatives as ex officio, to be solicited by the Council as needed.

Attendance Task Force

An Attendance Task Force was established in April 2019. This Task Force will provide the Deputy Minister of Education with updates on the mandate of the Task Force which include: key child-serving departments make school attendance a policy and programming priority (Education, Families, Justice and Indigenous and Northern Relations); meetings with educational partners that emphasize the importance of school attendance; and work with school divisions to develop strategies to improve attendance.


Task Force is established.


Chief Superintendents of the Winnipeg School Division and Frontier School Division; Community members; Superintendents; government officials.